Resistance

So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.
Romans 7:21-25

The apostle Paul once said in the book of Romans that ” I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.” He fought a war with his sins, he struggled with them. Paul was one man who wanted to be perfect, but couldn’t reach it. He couldn’t reach perfection, Paul was consumed by his sins and imperfections. Paul could not understand the reason why he done them, because all he wanted to do was good.

We are likewise,we are slaves to sin. This is one thing I have came to realize. After falling time after time again, I myself has felt the guilt and struggle of trying not to sin. In doing so, I had falling so far away from God. I put so much focus on where I used to be with God instead of where I could be with Him. I did a similar thing that Peter did when he stepped onto the waters, I took my eyes off of Jesus.

I’ve noticed that so many Christians do this, we all focus on what’s around rather than on Christ Himself. Peter gets a lot of flack for doing so, but in reality, we are so much like him. If anyone else was in Peter’s shoes, they would had done the same things that Peter had done. We are all sinners, we fall short of God’s glory. None of us are perfect, but that shouldn’t stop us from chasing perfection, to be like Christ. To resist the temptations of sin through Him, to give to the poor, heal the sick in His name. Our goal is to be more like Jesus in the best way we could possibly be.

In order to do so, we must kill our flesh. The Bible show’s us continously how to do this, to put all you have in Christ Himself. We must lean on Him, because Jesus even says Himself that He is significant in our weakness. So if Jesus can make up for our weakness, then what is it that can overcome us? Nothing. God is what holds us together, showing our worth in Christ. God isn’t going to let His Church to go down, not one member. Even if it takes time, God will make sure He provides as long as you keep fighting the good fight. As long as you are willing to kill your flesh, then God will make improvements.

In our faith, we are going to face temptations. We are going to face things that our own flesh wants. But it’s up to us to fight off our temptations of our bodies. We must lean to lean on Christ, rather than our own strength. We don’t have the will power by ourselves to fight satan on our own, but through Christ we are able to fight off our own temptations. We are able to overcome, we are able to resist the lies of satan.

Forgive me if I sound too preachy, however, I do believe in this. We must allow our spirits to be fed, and our flesh to starve. We must feed our souls with His Words, with spending time with God. Whether it be 5 minutes or 5 hours, time with God is essential to your soul. Our souls crave to be Heavenly, but our flesh wants to fight to stay here. Which ends us where our souls hate, bounded to sin. However like I stated before, it is through Jesus that we are able to escape out of our sinful chambers and become free and live in Christ. Our worth is so much greater than our sins, God sees that we aren’t our sins. We are His Children, and He is going to do what He does best to help us with ever need.

Whatever sins your struggling with today, just know you’re not alone. Jesus was tempted Himself, but resisted. How you may ask? He leaned on His Father in Heaven. Therefore, we must do the same. We must be willing to give EVERYTHING to God. Sure, you are going to slip up, but that doesn’t define who or what you are. It’s Jesus that defines you, and it’s only through Jesus that you can kill your flesh. Find your worth in Christ, not in your sinful habits. I promise, God will break every chain if you allow Him to. Give Him time, and He will.

-Unashamed Couple 💙

Leave a Reply

