Wait on Me…

He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”” -‭Matthew‬ ‭26:42‬ // “your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.” -Matthew‬ ‭6:10‬ // “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” -Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11}

{“Even if my dreams have died. And even if I don’t survive. I’ll still worship you with all my life. My life, yeah. And I’ll stop searching for the answers. I’ll stop praying for an escape. And I’ll trust you God with where I am. And believe that you will have your way. Just have your way. Just have your way. I know you will. I won’t forget. You love me. Have your way.” -Britt Nicole (Have Your Way) }

One of the most freeing, yet hardest words to say is this: Father, have Your way. Personally for me in many situations in my life it was (and still is) hard for me to pray that Gods will be done & He’ll have His way. I get into this mind set that I know what’s best for me, and this thing if it happens will make me happy. And if this thing happens I’ll be so much better off. When sometimes, in reality, when God gives me what I think I want, I wish He would take it back. Just take it away from me, cause it’s not what I want anymore.

So why is this? Why do I pray and say over & over & over again, “give me this Lord. Let this happen and I’ll be a lot more happier. My life will change so much!” That last statement is the only thing that is true. My life will change so much. And that part is very true, but the others aren’t. My life will change, but not in the way I think or want it to. It goes in the exact direction I was trying to run away from in the first place. Funny how it all works like that. The question is, why does it? Because we are humans, who can’t be trusted with planning out our own lives (Jeremiah 10:23). We change our minds constantly. (Example: One minute you can’t stand twenty one pilots, next minute you love their CD Blurryface)

The big point here is this: we as humans change our minds more than probably a billion times everyday. So why should be allowed to make a life changing decision, when we can’t even stop changing our minds that many times in one day?

Besides there is someone who knows you better than you know yourself. His name is God, the One who created you. The One who brought the ideas of things you dream about into your heart & mind. The One who gave you the ability to chase those dreams. He knows the true desires of your heart. Because He placed those desires in your heart. He knows you from the inside out. You can’t hide anything from Him. He loves you. And He is the only one who will love you unconditionally from day 1 to your last day on earth. He does everything in His power to create a beautiful of future for you. Because in everything you do, glory goes right back to Him. It’s how it works.

As much as it pains you to hand over the pen & paper to your future over to Him. If you do you’ll be glad you did. Why? Because His way & will is higher than yours is. He wants to give you WAY more than you think you deserve. Trust in Him & He knows which direction you should walk in.

Xoxo. -Unashamed Couple (~M)

Leave a Reply

