Praising God in the Middle

This is a question and challenge I’ve been asking myself ever since I watched a sermon by Pastor John Gray on YouTube: Can I praise God in the middle? (link to sermon: https://youtu.be/v83XdQT1gLM)

When I’m happy, full of joy, in praising God mode, the answer obviously is yes. But … what about when I’m hurting, my fragile heart is breaking, I’ve had a bad day, week, month, do I really praise Him in the middle? The verdict I wish was yes, but sadly, the answer is no…

Most of you reading this right now, can relate. Because we think “I’m gonna pray about it and receive tomorrow or three days tops”, and yes it can happen like that or not. Why? Because it’s all about God’s plan and His timing. It’s not about how many things you’ve done wrong or how many things you’ve done right, it’s about God picking out the right and perfect time to grant us things and to finally take us from the middle of A and B, and finally to B!

Now I’m not saying for you by any means to just to whatever you want and just sin freely. But I am saying God isn’t keeping score of all the right things you do, nor does He keep score of all the wrong things you do. He is just waiting on the time He has set for the breakthrough to come. In the meantime He has sent His word, He has given you a promise, and He is faithful. Always so faithful is our God. We just need to grow in our faith and praise Him in the middle.

And you may be on standing on shaky ground right now and saying to yourself “how in the world am I supposed to grow, when I’m in shaky ground?” Well let me ask you: what is your foundation? What ground are you standing on? Are you standing on His promises or doubts? Are you believing in your God, knowing He’ll do what He says He’ll do even if you can’t see it, or are you doubting Him? Because if your foundation is not His promises, or believing in Him, you’ll be not only standing on shaky ground, but you’ll also be blown away.

You also still may be thinking “what promises? He hasn’t talked to me I haven’t heard Him speak to me.” Well it gives me great pleasure to tell you … the whole Bible is Him talking to you. And here are a couple of verses that should give you hope that hold His promise in every word.

“But those who trust in the Lord will renew their strength; they will sour on wings like eagles; they will run and now grow weary; they will walk and not faint.” -Isaiah 40:31 CSB

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”‭‭ -Proverbs‬ ‭3:5-6‬ ‭NIV‬

“I have sworn by my own name; I have spoken the truth, and I will never go back on my word…” -‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭45:23‬ ‭NLT‬‬  //  “Listen to me, descendants of Jacob, all you who remain in Israel. I have cared for you since you were born. Yes, I carried you before you were born. I will be your God throughout your lifetime— until your hair is white with age. I made you, and I will care for you. I will carry you along and save you.” -‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭46:3-4‬ ‭NLT‬

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” -‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭NIV‬  //  ““I am the LORD, the God of all the peoples of the world. Is anything too hard for me?” -‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭32:27‬ ‭NLT‬‬

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.” -‭‭Philippians‬ ‭1:6‬ ‭NLT‬‬

“God will make this happen, for he who calls you is faithful.” -‭‭1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5:24‬ ‭NLT‬

There you have some of the many promises that fill the Bible. God has made us promises, and He is a God of His Word. The question is will we trust Him and accept the challenge to praise Him in the middle. And declare that all He says is true. 

Will we trust, praise, and stand on His promises, while waiting and in the middle? That is the challenge and question I am asking myself. So now I am challenging you! Will you?

-Unashamed Couple

Leave a Reply

