Bitterness

image

Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you. -Ephesians 4:31-32

All my life, I have been bitter. Ever since my father’s actions, I have held a grudge against him. With so many things, I see so much of what he’s done wrong in life. It’s been a process to actually forgive him, it’s been a process to actually give up that bitterness I have for my father. But the point is, I have found that forgiveness is the key to peace.

We love to hold these type of grudges, that if anyone does us wrong, we have a right to hate. But that isn’t the case, hate isn’t ever the answer. Hate only brings in darkness. Hate will bring in sin. Hate will bring evil out.

From personal experience, bitterness is a choice. Yes, it’s human nature to sin. However, we are also made to love. Jesus Himself had a reason to be bitter, but chose not to. If we have in forgiveness in our hearts, is there really room for love? Is there really any room for God? No.

I won’t lie, bitterness isn’t easy to get rid of. Trust me, I still feel bitter today as I write. This feeling over takes you, makes you a slave to angry and hurt feelings. Nothing is worse than this, that’s why we must seek Christ if we want to live a life of freedom.

It’s in Christ that there’s life, that we are able to love. Why? It’s because He is love. There’s power in this love, enough power to wash away the bitterness. He can teach to forgive, love, and to hope. We just need to make that jump to Him.

So friends, I encourage you to not let bitterness bound you. And if you have bitterness already, learn to chase God in your walk in your life. Choose to pray and to dig into His Word. I promise, you won’t regret it.

Hope and love to you all.

-J from Unashamed Couple 💙

Leave a Reply

