Freedom From Chains By Guest Blogger: Godly Relationships



Before I share a little something Jesus has been pressing on my heart for awhile now, I just want to say hi!! I am the writer and the owner of Godly Relationships, a ministry that exists in walking with young women in the journey of waiting for their future husbands. I am here to remind them that their worth and their fulfillment can only come from the security and the Love of our Jesus. I am so blessed to be able to walk with young girls through the highs and the lows of the waiting – and everything inbetween. You can find me on Instagram (@godlyrelationships), Twitter (gdrelationships), and my blog (godlyrelationships8.wix.com/godlyrelationships.) I would love to meet you and to welcome you into the journey! And just consider my words as encouragement and truth over a cup of coffee… Because I love having coffee with friends 🙂 and if you’re a guy, I would love to have you here too!! You are so much more than welcome to tag along. //// I am so honored to be one of the guest writers on https://unashamedcouple.wordpress.com/ & a friend of the writers. They have such a contagious heart for Jesus that is apparent from the very start. 

I am convinced that every human being struggles with, at some level, self esteem & just the overwhelming pressure that the world can lay on our shoulders. Since I’m a girl, I can say that I see so many girls struggle with body image and the society’s standard & expectation of beauty…. I being one of them.

Everywhere we look, we’re seeing the unrealistic standards that are placed on us as women. We’re expected to be a size 0, but yet to be curvy & “real.” We’re expected to not be too skinny but not too fat. We’re expected to be tall and clear skinned with long gorgeous hair. Expectations after expectations. And we see society & magazines & photoshopped photos of “perfect women” feeling not good enough and not pretty enough. And we can do one of two things regarding this struggle.

You see, I was the girl (and I still can be if not careful) that fed into the lies and the self-consciousness of how I looked. Two of my biggest insecurities are my thighs and the shape of my face. There were times when I stood in the mirror hating myself for what I saw… When in reality, I was seeing something that wasn’t actually there. I’ve had so many people comment on how tiny I am and just the other day someone complicated me on my “good legs.” WHAT?!?! The very thing that I was obsessing over and so insecure about was something that others admired. Just that very day I was analyzing my body for the bad… And here comes this amazing compliment that brought tears to my eyes. Friends, I really do think that the longer we stare at the “flaws” of our body, the more we believe something that actually isn’t real. We are so focused on every detail that we distort how we see ourselves and therefore believe that that’s how others see us too. 

I used to be really caught up in addictively watching what I ate and how much I exercised. Not to say that I didn’t indulge on icecream and pizza… But when I did, there was an overwhelming guilt. I pushed myself to workout and count calories and be “overly aware.” I found a false sense of confidence when someone would admire my body, but it never lasted. Now, this isn’t to say that things got out of control and I was in need of professional help, but it wasn’t freedom and it wasn’t from Jesus. And I feel like so many of us can get sucked into a trap of not intending any harm to be done when we workout, eat healthy, and be aware of what we are putting into our bodies. I mean after all our bodies are God’s temple and it is important to live a healthy lifestyle and take care of ourselves… But not to the point that we’re idolizing our bodies, and not Jesus.

Sometimes in the middle of this struggle, all words of Truth can feel plastic and non-helpful. One of the verses that can start to loose meaning if we let it is Psalms 139:14 that says that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. You know, the next time I hear that verse I don’t want it to feel shallow and meaningless – I want to truly live in the Truth of that verse. I want to believe that the innermost being of myself is fearfully, beautifully, wonderfully, and perfectly made by a God who creates only beautiful and glorious things. We are made in His image – and there is no flaw, no ugliness, no chains, no mistakes, and no imperfectations in who He is. I want my soul to not only hear it but grasp it… And truly live out the freedom that Jesus has lavished each and everyone of us with. I want my soul and my heart to believe it – not just my mind. It’s easy to recite how God sees us with our minds, but it’s not easy to believe it with our hearts. 

Girls, I want you to know that a piece of glass does not determine who you are and how much you are worth. The scale number, the number on your clothes, the imperfect eyes we can see ourselves with, the stretch marks, the cellulite, the dimples, the extra fat… These things do not define the heart you have and the purpose that you carry. When we walk with Jesus, we CAN have freedom and we CAN live in victory. We CAN overcome and we CAN have broken chains because in Him there is NO shame and there is NO insecurity because we are HIS. The blood of Jesus covers us before anything else does. So, next time you’re tempted to speak condemning lies over yourself remember that in doing so you’re letting the Enemy win. You’re allowing Satan’s lies into your heart and you’re listening to his voice instead of Jesus’. Don’t let that happen. In Him, the demons cannot speak and in Him there is no darkness. Allow Him to flood your heart with His light, and allow yourself to slowly believe it. Allow yourself to see yourself as how Jesus sees you – loved, beautiful, blameless, pure, confident, bold, joyful, beloved, wonderfully made, ENOUGH. If you aren’t hearing beloved whispered over yourself that’s not Jesus. Girls, there is freedom and there is grace in Jesus. Allow Himself to be written in your story and on your heart. Only by His love can you dance upon the chains in which He has defeated. When He looks upon you, all He sees is beauty. Pray that you’ll be able to see that too. ///

– Song of Songs 4:1, Philippians 4:8, 1 Timothy 4:8, Proverbs 31:30, 1 Peter 3:3&4, Isaiah 40:8, Psalms 139:14, 1 Timothy 2:9, 1 Samuel 16:7, 2 Corinthians 4:16, Ephesians 2:10, Genesis 1:27, Romans 8:6, Galatians 2:26-27, etc. 

2 thoughts on “Freedom From Chains By Guest Blogger: Godly Relationships

Leave a Reply

