Being Alive In Christ

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness. Colossians 2:6-7 NIV
Every Sunday when I go to church, I always hear the pastor say that we are to “be alive in Christ”. However, I seem to struggle with being the alive in Christ. No matter how much I work, I always seem to let God down. It feels as if I was destined to fail, like the whole world is against me and I can’t overcome anything that it brings upon me. I find myself in the same places, places that leads to depression, fear, and despair. I feel as if I am to give up the whole process that I have fought so hard to keep, and it’s always discouraging to me, and I know as a couple, me and MaKayla feels the same way. You know this feeling, especially if you’re in a relationship or had been in a relationship, the feeling that you’re not moving in life or in your relationship with your significant other and God. It’s always a struggle to feel so alive in God when you don’t feel like He’s doing anything in your life, and all you want to do is just sit down and cry. I’ve been there, MaKayla has been there, and most importantly, Jesus has been there.

Huh? Jesus has been there before? The Messiah of the world, who came to save the world, who was God’s only Son, felt as if God wasn’t there? Oh yes, a million times yes. See when Jesus hung on the tree He was able to feel all of our sorrow, not just our sins. He was feeling everything. Every hurt, every tear you’ve cried, every scar that scared you, every fear, every hopeless night, you name it, Jesus felt it all on that cross. And to beat it all, God hid His face from Jesus, meaning that Jesus was abandoned and was in a hopeless moment. Could you imagine the fear, the hopelessness that Jesus felt on that cross? It’s something that I couldn’t imagine myself. Jesus Himself cried out in the book of Matthew , Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? The translation to that is “My God, My God, why have You forsaken me?” This gives me chills here, because Jesus was real with God. He was crying out to Him, and for a moment, felt the hopelessness of every man. Just like one of my favorite pastors, Chris Durso, has said before:

The Bible just said that even though you feel the opposition, you’ll be able to conquer it, you’ll be able to overcome it, you’ll be able to deal with it. So it is never a waste of time, but please know that when you live with God hardships are gonna come. Tough times, without a doubt, are going to come, but let’s not make it a waste of time.

And how true is that! When you live for God things are going to pop up and will try to throw you off course. But guys, never make that an excuse to give up. Yes, it’s tough. Some of the things you’re going through right now are going to be painful, but it’s going to be worth it in due time. Like The Bible states time and time again, everything works out for the good of God’s people. God never promised that things will be easy here on Earth, but He’s always going to bring comfort even through the toughest of times. Whether you feel the presence of Christ or not, He’s always there to carry you and to protect you through everything. The only thing He’s commanding us to do is to love and keep the faith. If God brought you to it, then what makes you think He isn’t going to bring you through it even now?

That’s the question I ask myself, and I can’t answer it without thinking about the times God has pulled me through…

So to answer the question I started with: we can still be alive in Christ and still have our trials! Things are going to fight us and set us off track from everything we have worked for in the past. We feel like we’re so dead in Christ, that we fear that God isn’t going to pull through. But this can be so far from the truth, because I know my God isn’t any different than He was in the Bible. He still loves, He still protects His people, and He still pulls through, even at the very last minute. Just keep that in mind when your season scares you and just keep the faith.

 

Leave a Reply

